Skip to content

Project Runway Canada – Hope Springs Eternal

March 4, 2009

I just caught up with all episodes of Project Runway Canada and will be giving a weekly update. This week Jessica Biffi won the challenge.  The challenge was creating a Day-to-Night spring dress for the Winners customer.  I like Jessica a lot, I think she’s a good designer and she’s hilarious with her whole white gangsta attitude.  I definitely agree that she should have won the challenge.  She picked lime green for the dress, which is such a hot color this season.  I really like the neckline and I think that it’s a very flattering silhouette.  Here it is pictured below.

email39421.JPG

So this week, the prize for winning the challenge was that the designer would get to have their dress sold at selected Winners locations.  Guess what Vancouver?  Two locations nearby will be carrying that dress: the Winners downtown on Granville, and the Winners in Park Royal.  I am beyond excited about this!  Project Runway Canada is one of the only Canadian reality shows that I can stand.  I was always jealous of the American Project Runway and all the people that got to go to those selected locations to buy the winning design, now it’s our turn Canada!

As for the rest of the show, Jeff got eliminated and I think that was a good decision.  His designs were very old lady ish, and he wasn’t a very innovative designer.  He is nowhere nearly as talented as my Sunny (who has to win the contest or I will have a heart attack).  I must say though, I did enjoy Jeff’s bitchy, sassy attitude and it will be greatly missed.  I hope Jessica and Sunny end up in the top 3 but honestly, I don’t know who else I want in there.  Jason is certifiably nuts.  There was that first challenge where he made his model drape herself with a tarp like she was some kind of wild animal.  I’ve never seen that on a runway in my entire life, it was such a strange gimmick.  Then the last challenge, he put those snaps on the dress so you could leave the dress up or put it down and do all these crazy things with it.  It was mega weird, no woman would ever do that with her dress.  Isn’t fashion supposed to be your job, Jason?  Shouldn’t you know the basics behind it?  Heavy sigh.

Then there’s Kim.  Oh, Kim.  She has done nothing special so far and all she does is shit talk everyone else on the show.  This past week, she made it through to the next round because of her mediocrity yet again.  She needs to go.  I’m not particular fussy about her partner in crime Genevieve either.  She makes some pretty weird decisions, like in the last challenge where she clearly constructed a nighttime dress and tried to make it pass for a daytime dress too.  “You can wear flip flops with it and wear it to work!”  No, for the love of God, you can’t.

Oh yeah, and then there’s Adejoké.  She’s alright, but I almost forgot she was in the competition.  Every time she talks I slip into a coma.   She’s not particularly creative and I don’t know if her style is really my taste, but I prefer her over Jason, Kim, and Genevieve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

